A Generic (& LONG) Update

Man, I’ve really been missing this space! I want to be writing and keeping up with our lives here a little bit better as a way to remember things, but for the life of me, I just cannot find the time. It was difficult enough before Annabel stopped napping, but now? Impossible. Well it feels that way anyway.

So yeah, we’ve been super busy, and while I don’t have any real direction for this post, I thought a generic update was in order. Most recently, we enjoyed a wonderful Easter weekend, complete with a birthday party, time with family, and four egg hunts for Annabel.

Last year she was just beginning to grasp the concept of searching for Easter eggs, but this year, she had it down! It helped that she had plenty of opportunities for practice! Saturday morning we headed over to a friend’s house to celebrate her daughter’s third birthday. It was such a fun party and even included an Easter egg hunt, which Annabel loved!

IMG_3333

IMG_3348

IMG_3345

Straight from there, Annabel and I stopped by the house to pick up Nathan, and we all headed up to his parents’ house for a little Easter fun. Annabel searched for more eggs, then we all ate dinner, and relaxed in the hot tub.

IMG_3387

Sunday morning we let Annabel search the house for the eggs that we had hidden the night before. She also got to pick apart her Easter basket goodies, which included a fun new outfit, two pairs of shoes, and some Daniel Tiger toys which she loved!

IMG_5940

Sunday afternoon, we went over to my mom’s house where Annabel got to play with her cousins and have yet another Easter egg hunt! It was a crazy busy but fun weekend!

IMG_3410

IMG_3414

IMG_3409

And that’s pretty much how the rest of our time has been since my last update: busy! In March I was thrilled to be able to photograph again for the SXSW photo crew, like last year. It was an absolute blast (though exhausting!), and since it was my second year on the crew, I got some more film assignments which is what I’m really interested in, so I was excited for that! (I’ll try to do a proper update later!)

On my very first day, I actually met a woman who literally lives within walking distance of my house. She also has a 2 year old daughter, so we’ve been getting together for play dates and texting each other ever since. So random/awesome!

SXSW also opened up another photography door for me a few weeks ago. One of the other photographers that I met works for a wedding company that I recently started working for as well. I’ve only shot one wedding with them so far, but I think it’s going to be a great learning experience for me. They book all of the weddings so that I don’t have to find my own clients (no time for that!), I get to use their gear, and I don’t have to edit any of the photos! So it’s a pretty good gig. There are a few drawbacks, and I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to keep it up with everything else going on, but for now I’m excited about the opportunity to learn more, earn some extra income, and have some time to pursue my passion.

Outside of photography, we’ve been busy completing projects around the house. And by “we”, I mostly mean Nathan, his dad, and his brother. I’ve helped out where I could, but there’s kind of this issue of having a two year old to watch after, so it hasn’t left me very available to help. Annabel and I are good plant shoppers though;)

IMG_5884

Anyway. We added borders around the trees in our front yard and expanded one of the flower beds, adding in new flowers and stones. I absolutely love the ways this turned out!

IMG_5968

IMG_5956

In the backyard, the guys built another stone border along the back fence line. They also added a new raised bed, so that we could have additional space for fruits and veggies.

IMG_5957

IMG_5959

As of now, we have watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, zucchini, bell peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, and green beans growing in the backyard! Oh, and we also decided to try out a blackberry bush for good measure!

IMG_5958

With all of that finally behind us, we’re ready to get started on the small deck that we’re adding on to our back patio. Plus we have a few other small projects to complete, like installing a new front door handle/lock, adding railing to the front porch, and doing a mini makeover in our master bedroom. The projects never end.  But I’m so glad that we’re able to tackle them right now!

As far as daily life goes, it’s been just as busy. Annabel and I have been filling or days with LOTS of play dates

IMG_5810

IMG_5795

and outside time while this beautiful weather lasts.

IMG_2484

IMG_2476

IMG_2488

I’ve finally started our walks back up and hope to head out on morning walks several times a week, with the occasional stop at the playground, like this morning.

IMG_5985

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Swim lessons also just started up, so we’re really gearing up for summer now!

IMG_5905

And of course, we’ve gotten out a couple of times to enjoy the famous Texas wildflowers!

IMG_3226

IMG_3159

IMG_3299

When we’re not out enjoying friends and nice weather, we’re home doing tons of other stuff. Recently I’ve really felt the weight of all that I try to get done at home on top of caring for and engaging a two year old. It feels like I’m constantly cooking something, or cleaning up from cooking something, or doing laundry, or vacuuming, or cleaning up dozens of messes that my little tornado child creates. It’s exhausting! I haven’t had a chance to keep up with my other blog either, but I’ve also been doing a lot in the way of making my own household/cleaning/hygiene products and cooking everything from scratch….like everything. I’m afraid I might have bit off more than I can chew right now, but I’m doing my best to press forward.

This feels like the craziest, busiest time of my life, which might sound pathetic to some people, coming from a stay-at-home mom. But it’s true. And although I’m completely exhausted most days, I’m not ready to give up on all of the new chores I’ve brought upon myself. Because the truth is that I get so much fulfillment out of all of it….the fresh, healthy cooking, the DIY products, and of course, the time with Annabel.

IMG_5848

So that’s what we’ve been up to!

