Eat Your Greens!

If you’ve been reading along here for a while, you probably know that Annabel is the most picky eater to ever walk the face of the earth.

Ok, that’s really not true. There are quite a lot of things that she will eat, it’s just that there are quite a lot more that she won’t eat. And most of those are the things that I’d most like her to eat. Like vegetables. Pretty much won’t touch them, save for the occasional frozen ones, straight from the bag.

I don’t know what it is about kids and eating, but it does something to my psyche when she refuses good, healthy food. And conversely, when she does eat it, I feel this crazy sense of pride and elation. Yep, that’s my kid. Just munching on some kale, no big deal. It just feels like you’ve done something right. And as a mom, sometimes those feelings are few and far between!

So I’ve struggled mightily trying to get Annabel to eat more greens, but it’s mostly been futile. So I typically do the sneaky mom thing where I throw spinach into the fruit puree that I make to mix with her yogurt.

photo(34)

And I put zucchini in her muffins. But aside from those two things, she’s not getting much in the way of veggies. Sure, she’ll occasionally eat a sweet potato, and she might eat a casserole with vegetables in it if she’s really hungry and feeling especially generous to my emotional well-being. But it’s not enough. Add in the fact that the kid completely refuses all forms of meat (and eggs!), and you’re looking at very minimal iron intake.

The doctor suggested leafy greens and encouraged me to keep up with the spinach in the puree. But I needed another way to get more in her.

Enter the green smoothie.

I know this is nothing new. It’s not even new to me. But last week we accompanied some friends to a juice shop, and I ordered Annabel the kids’ “Peachy Green”, fully expecting that she would take one look, notice the horrific color of green that is never to be ingested, and toss it aside.

photo(32)

But then she drank it. The whole thing. It probably helped that I called it juice, and since she’s never really allowed to drink juice and therefore thinks it’s magical, she gulped it right down.

photo(33)

The next day we were at Whole Foods, and I again ordered a green smoothie, this time mostly for myself. But then Annabel drank more than half of it. A few days later, we were at it again. As you can imagine, this quickly adds up. So yesterday and today, we made our own.

photo(35)

And let me just say, guys…the joy in watching my girl slurp down spinach, kale, flax seeds, and almonds is unmatched. Now of course, there were also things like mango (which the child absolutely LOVES!), peaches, strawberries, unsweetened applesauce, and cinnamon. But no sweeteners, no additives, nothing but pure, unadulterated goodness.

photo(36)

And then angels appeared in our kitchen and sang a hymn.

