A Happy Mother Indeed

I really wanted to sleep in this morning. It was the one thing that I really wanted for Mother’s Day. But by the time Nathan got up with Annabel, I was already pretty awake. I tried and tried to go back to sleep, but every time I got close, I would hear a screech from the living room. So I gave in and got up. I was grouchy. I must admit it. I decided I would feel better if I went out for a walk, so I immediately scooped Annabel up and we hit the pavement.

When we got home, Nathan had gluten-free blueberry pancakes ready for us. They were delicious, and I really couldn’t even tell they were gluten-free. The day was starting to look up. I sat there eating breakfast and feeling bad about being a grouch. I realized how lucky I am to be able to wake up to all of Annabel’s crazy noises and to even have a reason to celebrate today. No, I didn’t get to sleep in and the day was really busy, but it was also pretty great.

I got some smooches from my favorite girl.

IMG_8727

I got to eat some delicious BBQ while watching Annabel walk around with Lilly.

IMG_8707

I got to watch her splash around my aunt and uncle’s hot tub,

IMG_8748

while becoming buddies with Nora (my brother’s girlfriend’s daughter),

IMG_8762

and getting soaking wet.

IMG_8775

I got to take a goofy picture with Nathan.

IMG_8829

And then a serious one.

IMG_8827

And then we got this lovely family photo.

IMG_8839

Oh and I got to spend some time with my mom as well, but somehow managed to not get a single photo with her in it! Oops.

A lovely day indeed!

And now that Nathan is putting Annabel to bed, I get to look forward to relaxing on the couch with some TV and ice cream.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mamas out there!

