Semi-Healthy Homemade Popsicles

It’s that time of year again! Well, sort of. Today we’re back in long sleeves, which I can’t ever remember happening in May in Texas.

But on Wednesday, it was almost 90 degrees, and since Annabel and I were home from work and school because of her double pink eye, I decided it was the perfect time to pull out the popsicles that I had made for her on Monday.

I made some popsicles for her last summer, but I have to admit that those weren’t nearly as good as these! I think the secret ingredient is unsweetened applesauce. All I did was throw some fresh berries (blackberries, raspberries, and strawberries–I don’t like blueberry skins in popsicles!) into my food processor and hit go. Then I added a couple spoonfuls of applesauce and plain, unsweetened yogurt. I topped it all off with a handful of fresh spinach (why not?) and a little bit of sugar. With the applesauce, you will find that you don’t need much sugar at all as it really helps to sweeten the mixture naturally.

I let Annabel have a little taste test and she loved it so much that I ended up having to spoon some into a bowl for her before freezing the rest into our popsicle tray.

So I knew that frozen, they’d be an even bigger hit, and naturally, I was right. Ha.

IMG_7987

No, but seriously.

IMG_7994

She loved it, and I felt great knowing that she was getting a special treat that was pretty healthy for her. I call them “semi-healthy” because I did add a touch of sugar and of course fruit has a lot of sugar all on its own, but I think they’re a vast improvement over store-bought popsicles whose first ingredient is usually sugar.

IMG_8002

IMG_8008

Get in ma belly!

Yum, yum!

IMG_8006

Though they are delicious, they are also messy when placed in little hands. You might end up with a popsicle face.

IMG_8012-2

But it’s worth the clean-up!

