Portland

Last weekend I took my first trip since Annabel was born. My best friend and I decided a few months back to take a long girls weekend. When we thought of where to go, we landed on Chicago, Portland, or Boston. After much discussion and a FB poll (which overwhelmingly favored Portland), we picked Portland as our destination. We knew the weather would be chilly and expected to be rained on the entire time, but we really lucked out. Friday was really the only day that we got rained on and we even ended up seeing a surprising amount of sun! I hardly took any pictures on our first and last day, so most of these are from Saturday and Sunday.

We had a lot of fun, ate some good food, explored a cute little seaside town, browsed the massive Powell’s bookstore, wandered the Portland Saturday Market and Farmer’s Market, got a pedicure, relaxed in the hot tub, and had some crazy transportation near-death experiences adventures. Here are some of my favorite pictures and tidbits from our weekend away:

On the plane on Friday:

plane

Our first lunch and my first ever gluten-free beer:

beer

After lunch, we took a (long) walk to Washington Park to see the International Rose Test Garden. The roses are supposed to be blooming starting in April, but sadly there was not a single one! So we saw lots of huge trees instead.

tree

Exploring the Portland Saturday Market (which was awesome!)

IMG_7112

IMG_7103

IMG_7120

IMG_7116

IMG_7126

IMG_7143

IMG_7131

Then on to the Farmer’s Market….

IMG_7105

IMG_7160

So much beautiful food!

IMG_7154

After all of that walking, we opted for a pedicure with a side of wine.

pedi

The next morning we took a bus to Astoria, Oregon to spend the afternoon.

Arriving at the Astoria Column on Sunday.

IMG_7220

IMG_7219

IMG_7230

IMG_7206

I climbed to the top (164 steps!), so that I could stand out on this little observation deck

IMG_7212

and see the sights! Sadly Bethany didn’t make it to the top with me due to her irrational fear of heights. I must admit it was a little bit scary up there! And very windy.

IMG_7186

IMG_7175

IMG_7183

We took a taxi up there, but then decided to make the trip down on foot.

IMG_7258

IMG_7263

It was beautiful and worked up our appetite for lunch! I had a gluten-free grilled cheese and a delicious, fresh salad.

IMG_7270

After a short walk around town as well as some dessert and coffee,

IMG_7279

we boarded the trolley to get some better views of the waterfront.

IMG_7295

IMG_7318

IMG_7304

IMG_7302

IMG_7329

IMG_7323

Back in Portland that night, we visited a bar stocked completely with all of the different ciders you can imagine. Bethany was in heaven.

IMG_7346

From there, I insisted on a few nighttime shots of the city.

IMG_7347

IMG_7354

The next morning we had a leisurely breakfast, packed up our stuff, and headed out to look around for a little while. This was when we went into Powell’s and discovered that we should have given ourselves lots more time in there. Coolest bookstore ever! After going back to retrieve our bags from the hotel, we headed to the airport to make our mid-afternoon flight to Austin, connecting in Denver. Too bad Denver was having a massive snowstorm that delayed our flight by 2.5 hours, meaning we didn’t arrive home until after 1:00am! I was so ready to be home by then. It was 2:00am by the time I got home, and as crazy as it sounds, I went into Annabel’s room, picked her up and carried her to our bed. I just needed to snuggle her.

It was difficult to be away, but probably not as bad as I thought it would be. In the end I think it’s great to get away every now and again and this was the perfect length of time. Knowing that Annabel was safe and sound at home with Nathan made it so much easier too. All in all, a great time!