SXSW: More Photos

I know I said in my last post that I wanted to write about the whole experience of being at SXSW for the first time….and I do, but before I do that, I thought I’d share just a few more photos.

On Wednesday night I had the chance to see a few really awesome bands. I went down to see Iron & Wine, but found myself loving all of the bands that came on before them. First up was a band called “Family of the Year”.

IMG_4964

They were awesome.

IMG_4989

IMG_4945

At one point, they actually played a song that I had heard on the radio! It’s called Hero and it’s really good. You should look it up on Youtube or iTunes or what have you.

IMG_5031

IMG_4939

IMG_5038

Next up was another band that I had never heard of and didn’t recognize any of the songs. The band was called “Lord Huron” and I really, really liked their music!

IMG_5173

IMG_5111

I was hopeful that the bands before Iron & Wine would be good and pretty similar in style and sound, but I felt really lucky to have been introduced to two bands that I will definitely be listening to more of.

IMG_5094

Then there was Natalie Maines. You might know her as a former Dixie Chick. Her career kind of plummeted after making some negative remarks about then President George W. Bush. I remember when it happened, but at the time didn’t really have an opinion on it. Now I think it’s pretty sad that the relatively mild comments were enough to get the Dixie Chicks blacklisted on many country stations and venues. I feel like the comments that she made (that she was ashamed that Bush hailed from Texas) would hardly get any attention in today’s political climate, but at the time it was HUGE.

Anyway. Having said that, I’m really pulling for her to be successful now and I really enjoyed her show!

IMG_5291

I was always a fan of the Dixie Chicks, but I’ve definitely strayed from country music in the past several years. This new Natalie Maines didn’t feel country at all. She played with Ben Harper,

IMG_5324

IMG_5349

and they totally rocked it.

IMG_5351

IMG_5307

I had so much fun being right up at the front and learning how to take concert photos. I met up with some of the other photographers, made sure my settings were similar to theirs (they were!), and then just kicked back and enjoyed the shows. I wasn’t there on assignment, so I didn’t feel any pressure to get any amazing shots, but I think I got a few to add to my portfolio. And of course, I had a great time!

Finally Iron & Wine took the stage and did not disappoint. I got the fewest shots of them because I just wanted to listen to the music.

IMG_5470

IMG_5533

IMG_5514

A great night and I’m so glad I got a chance to expand my portfolio! Concert photography is definitely something I think I could get into. There is so much excitement and so many fun variables to work with between the lighting, the facial expressions and the instruments.

Good stuff.

