Cheesy Spinach & Quinoa Casserole

If you’ve not tried quinoa before, I think this is the perfect introductory recipe! If you have tried it, but never put it in a casserole (like one of my coworkers), try this out! She (my coworker) said she had never thought to use it in a casserole and raved about this recipe once I sent it along to her.

I found the recipe here.

It sounded delish, so I gave it a try. And you guys? It was amazing! Really filling and really flavorful. I love that you can have this with some grilled chicken or as a stand-alone meal. But the absolute best part about it? It was Annabel approved! Some days it seems harder and harder to find things that she will eat and like, much less anything containing vegetables, so the fact that she gobbled down bowls full of this was icing on the cake!

IMG_2257

Here is what you’ll need:

1 1/2 cups dry quinoa
3 cups chicken broth
1 red bell pepper, chopped
3 green onions, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
5 oz chopped frozen spinach, defrosted and all liquid squeezed out (about half a box!)
1 tbsp canola oil
1 cup milk
2 cups grated cheddar cheese
1 cup Panko breadcrumbs
1/2 cups grated mozzerella cheese
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/2 tsp black pepper

And here are the directions:

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large sauce pot over medium high heat, add the oil. Once hot, add the chopped bell pepper, scallions and spinach and saute for about four minutes—just until bell pepper has started to soften. Add the garlic and continue sauteing for another 30 seconds.

Add quinoa to the pot, followed by the chicken broth, salt, dry mustard and pepper. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes until all liquid has been absorbed. Stir well.

Now, add the grated cheddar cheese and milk. Stir to combine then pour into a greased 9 x 13″ casserole dish. In a small bowl, combine the Panko and the mozzerella cheese. Sprinkle on top of casserole and bake for about 30 minutes until golden.

Again, this recipe is not my own and was taken directly from this blog.

Here is what you’ll get:

IMG_2247

IMG_2253

I’ve made this twice now. As I’ve mentioned in the past, I typically don’t follow recipes exactly, but I pretty much did with this one. The only changes I made were to use about 1/2 of one yellow onion instead of the green onions since I don’t like them. I also substituted olive oil for the canola that it called for, neither of which caused any problems.

The second time I made it, I had some leftover asparagus, so I chopped it into pretty small pieces and also added that. So, so good and great as leftovers as well!

Enjoy!

