Playing Possum

When I was little and would fall asleep in the back of the car, my dad (and sometimes my mom) would carry me in the house and deliver me straight to my bed. As I got a little bit older, I realized that I could pretend to be asleep and get the same result. And I don’t know what it was about being carried to bed that I loved so much, but I definitely began to abuse this privilege. To the point where my parents would call me out and ask if I was “playing possum.” I would remain as still and quiet as I possibly could, trying desperately not to smile and give myself away. I thought I was pretty hot stuff whenever I managed to trick my parents into believing that I was indeed asleep. Looking back, I probably never really tricked them; they were just being gracious enough to humor me.

I have no idea how old I was when I started doing this, but since I can remember it, I’m pretty sure I wasn’t as young as Annabel. Yet here she is, playing possum at the ripe old age of (almost) 17 months! It goes something like this…..

Nathan and I trade off nights putting Annabel to bed these days. However, Annabel still strongly prefers me to do it. A little before bedtime, I’ll offer her a little bit of milk in a sippy cup and we’ll snuggle on the couch for a few minutes while she drinks it. The last several times that it’s been Nathan’s night to put her to bed, she’s had the same reaction. No matter how wide awake and playful she’s being, the minute I tell her that daddy is going to take her “night night”, she immediately lays down on me, closes her eyes and pretends to sleep. It is hilarious. At first I thought it must be a fluke, but now she’s done it several times, so I’m sure that she’s doing it on purpose.

So now instead of telling her she’s going night night, Nathan says, “let’s go find the cat.” I wonder how long before she figures that one out and starts refusing that.

IMG_2360-2

