Seriously Delicious Banana Bread

Yesterday I had a craving for banana bread, so I decided to try my special recipe again. The only other time I’ve ever made banana bread was a few months ago, and I couldn’t find a recipe that I loved. So I found lots of recipes that sounded alright and just kind of combined them. I honestly can’t even remember where I found them now. At any rate, I threw a bunch of stuff together and hoped for the best. What came out of my oven an hour later was nothing short of miraculous. So I quickly tried to recall everything that I had put in it and wrote it all down.

Worried that it could have been a total fluke, I wasn’t sure how the bread would turn out for a second time. Now that I’ve made it twice though, I think I can call it an official “recipe” and share it here with you. While I won’t delude myself into calling this a health food, it does have some redeeming qualities, including some whole wheat flour and flax seeds. But overall, I tend to think of (and eat this) as more of a dessert than anything else. It’s the perfect after-dinner treat.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup walnut chips

3 tsp ground flax seeds

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

3 ripe, medium sized bananas

1 egg

1/4 cup plain yogurt

2 tbsp melted butter

1 tbsp honey

1 tsp vanilla

* A sprinkle of mini-chocolate chips- optional

First, combine your dry ingredients in a large bowl. Then mash up your banana and add the remainder of the wet ingredients to a smaller bowl. Then combine the wet ingredients with the dry, pour into your bread pan and bake for approximately 50-55 minutes. Bread is ready when it’s golden on top and a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_2224-2

IMG_2226-2

Let bread cool for a few minutes. Before it has cooled all the way, remove one slice, slather it in butter, and enjoy! You will think you’ve died and gone to heaven. It’s seriously delicious!

IMG_2233-2

