Giving Thanks

I know I must sound like a broken record, but anytime milestone events or holidays roll around, I always find myself thinking back to the year before and marveling at just how far a year can take us. Last year on Thanksgiving, Annabel was just a tiny little infant, incapable of even rolling over. Last year I nursed her, and this year she fed herself sweet potatoes. Last year she was barely starting to smile and this year she walked up to people waving and saying “hi!”. Last year she was still in diapers and this year…ok, so not everything has changed!

Anyway.

We followed last year’s new tradition of starting Thanksgiving off with the annual Turkey Trot in downtown Austin. It was a beautiful morning for it and the crowd was huge.

Annabel was such a great sport, and I really think she enjoyed being out there. There was so much to look at that she couldn’t ever be bothered to look at the camera.

Definitely a success and something I look forward to doing again next year!

After the turkey trot we headed home to pack our stuff. Annabel fell asleep about ten minutes before we got home and I tried to get her back down once we were inside, but it wasn’t happening. So we took off for Nathan’s parent’s house a little earlier than we had planned. Annabel helped Nathan back the car out.

She thinks that’s the funniest thing ever!

Once we got there, Annabel finally crashed for her nap, waking up just in time to snap a few family pictures

and eat!

I ate way more than I should have, but who could blame me with a spread like this:

And this was followed by pecan and pumpkin pie. It was my first time ever making a pecan pie, but it was so delicious that it definitely won’t be my last time!

We decided to spend Thursday night at my in-laws, which was really nice when Annabel was up at her usual 6:00am on Friday and we could pass her off to Grandpa! We even got a little Black Friday shopping in, which we don’t normally do. I got some great kitchen stuff I’ve been needing for $30, when it normally would have cost $160! That’s my kind of deal!

The rest of Friday was spent hanging around the house, watching some college football and playing outside in the leaves with Grandma and Grandpa.

Friday night we were home just in time to get Annabel tucked into bed and then we still had an entire weekend to get stuff done around the house (hello window washing!), run errands and spend plenty of time outside soaking up this gorgeous weather at the park.

Such a fantastic weekend, full of all of the things and people that I am so very grateful for this Thanksgiving!

If you celebrated, I hope you had a great day. If you didn’t, I still hope you had a great day!

