One Year and One Month

Annabel turned 13 months on Friday! I still can’t believe it’s October and that I’ll be 30 on Tuesday and that the holidays are just around the corner. The past month was full of some long days and lightning fast weeks. It’s amazing to me how the days can drag on sometimes, but the weeks and months fly by. How is this possible?!

So what have we been up to for the last month you ask? What’s that? You didn’t ask? Well, I’m going to tell you anyway! 🙂

The weather has really started to cool down around these parts (meaning low 90’s and sometimes even 80’s for the highs!), so we’ve been trying to get out for as many walks as possible on these beautiful and chilly mornings. Just strolls through the neighborhood, but sometimes I take my camera and manage to discover pretty sights even in this brick and concrete jungle that we call our neighborhood.

Some mornings I even stop at the park down by the pool for a little bit to let Annabel play since we don’t have to rush home to beat the heat as much. She loves this little break out of the stroller and puts up a fight when it’s time to go.

Now that it’s getting cooler out, I really want to spend more time outdoors with Annabel, but sometimes I’m at a loss for what to do and where to do it. When I take her in the front yard, all she wants to do is run in the street. She’ll see kids across the street or at the school or dogs or whatever grabs the attention of a 13 month old and she gets so mad when I won’t let her dart over there. So the front yard isn’t a great option, but I still take her out there a lot. Then there’s the backyard. We only have a very tiny covered patio and that’s where I prefer her to play. Our grass is thick and full of bugs, so I’d rather she play on the patio, but it’s currently being mostly taken up by a table, chairs and grill. I’ve been brainstorming lots of ideas for making over the space (and maybe even extending the concrete slab!) to be more Annabel-friendly. My thought is that it will be her arts and crafts area, sensory play area and maybe fun snack spot. I’ve been scouring Craigslist for supplies, but so far all I’ve bought is a chair and an easel. I let Annabel test it all out recently and she seemed to approve.

So glad she decided to cover over that hideous red! 😉

I can’t wait to get the rest of the space put together!

The arrival of Fall also means the arrival of college football and Nathan has already been hard at work trying to indoctrinate Annabel and make him his little football buddy. Recently, he taught her to throw her arms in the air when he says “Touchdown!” which is pretty much the most adorable thing ever.

The month of September definitely had its ups and downs and moments when the “downs” threatened to pull me under. Annabel has been having some horrific teething pain and it has affected every aspect of her life: eating, sleeping, mood, behavior. And if you guessed that the effect hasn’t been entirely positive, you’d be correct! We’ve had some very trying moments, but then a day like yesterday sneaks in where Annabel was absolutely delightful, and I find myself, once again, so enchanted with this little girl. So amazed by her new abilities,

blown away by her beautiful little face,

and endlessly entertained by her non-stop shenanigans. And there are a lot of those!

Along with new teeth, this kid has acquired so many new skills in the past month! She is getting better and better at signing (not to be confused with singing, which she has yet to master!) and now consistently signs for “eat”, “more” and “all done”, which cracks me up because her interpretation of the sign is to throw her arms in the air and wave them furiously.

She points at the things she wants, shakes her head “no” when she doesn’t want something and recently started shrugging her shoulders when I ask her a question that she doesn’t know. Like, “where are your shoes?”.

She has started rocking all of her toys and patting their backs and every night when she takes a bath, she uses her washcloth to clean her rubber duckies and cover them up. She has started wanting to climb onto (and still into) everything. She climbs up and into her stroller by herself and has discovered that she can stand on things to climb up to things like chairs and coffee tables. She makes a barking noise every time she hears a dog and drinks cow’s milk from a sippy cup. She eats all sorts of table food, tries to feed herself with her spoon, and takes one nap a day.

She flips through books like it’s her full-time job, she goes down slides,

and walks on trails

and does a fake laugh when she hears us laugh. But then there’s her real laugh.

And that’s the one I can’t get enough of! So yes, this month had its struggles, as every month does and will for the rest of time.

But there were an awful lot of sweet moments mixed in as well.

