Celebrate

This is the last post about Annabel’s birthday I promise. Until next year that is.

So I’m not much of a party girl. I’ve never liked having parties for myself and I think it’s because I hate the anxiety it brings. I hate worrying about whether or not people are having a good time. Or if they’re bored. Or hot. Or liking the food. Or critiquing something in the house. Or or or….

Naturally this anxiety of throwing a party for myself has overlapped into throwing a party for Annabel. So that’s part of the reason why we didn’t have some huge party for her first birthday. The other part is that I’m just not one of those people who gets way into crazy and expensive birthday parties for kids who won’t even remember them. And then once they can (remember that is) I don’t want to build up wild expectations where I have to “top” each party every year until Annabel is featured on “My Super Sweet 16” acting like an entitled princess. Way to start my post on a positive note, huh?! Ha.

Anyway.

We did have a little get together last Monday (Labor Day) to celebrate Annabel’s birthday with family (and one dear friend). We took her to a splash pad near our house that she’s never been to and let her splash around for about an hour.

After that, we headed back to the house to sing Happy Birthday

and let Annabel dig in to her first ever cupcake. She was a little unsure what to think.

She eventually got a little more into it, but never really went crazy over it.

I’m going to go ahead and predict right now that by this time next year, she’ll be a cupcake eating pro and won’t need any coaxing!

After cupcakes (we completely forgot the ice cream!), it was time to open gifts. Annabel could not have cared less about the gifts, which of course made me feel bad for the generous gift givers. She was most interested in the boxes and tissue paper and my friend’s lip gloss. But again, I’m sure we won’t have that problem next year!

Even though it was really low key and simple, I think it was a success. Next year I’ll try harder to get over my anxiety and try to come up with something a little more creative (but still inexpensive!) for her party.

So that was on Monday since we couldn’t have a party on her actual birthday, which was Wednesday. But she was born on Labor Day last year, so it was kind of like it being on her birthday….

On her actual birthday, Nathan and I both took off work to spend the day with her. We got up early because Annabel doesn’t believe in sleeping in, even on special occasions. We went for a nice long walk together and then came home and ate breakfast and let Annabel open up the gifts that we got for her.

After opening the box, she did what she always does with boxes.

Climbed right in!

Same thing with the second box.

Eventually we convinced her to play with the actual toys.

We ordered her a little push car but didn’t realize until the night before her birthday (when we opened the box) that it was missing the handlebars. We’re still waiting for those to arrive. I don’t think Annabel cared though….

After that, we got Annabel ready to go and took her up to the neighborhood pool for about an hour, came home, fed her lunch and put her down for her nap. After she woke up, it was snack time. What better snack than a leftover cupcake?

She did much better the second time!

The rest of the afternoon was spent hanging around the house, playing and enjoying watching our little one year old!

All in all a great first birthday for an amazing little lady!

