Zucchini Rice Gratin

You know you’ve had a lazy busy week when your “Recipe of the Week” posts are back to back. Oops. I have no idea how people manage to blog everyday. Maybe one day!

This week I decided to try a recipe from Smitten Kitchen based on a recommendation from my friend Jen. Yep, the same Jen I talked about in my last post! Hi Jen:)

Anyway. She made this recipe last week and said it was delicious, so I decided to give it a go. Here is the recipe I used from Smitten Kitchen, so you can get all of the step-by-step instructions. But basically you are going to bake zucchini and tomatoes,

while you are simultaneously cooking rice with garlic and onions. Once everything has been cooked, you are going to combine the rice and onion mix with two eggs and some parmesan cheese. Then layer the rice and some of the zucchini in a casserole dish and top with the remaining zucchini and the tomatoes. Then bake for 20 minutes and ta-da!

Dinner is served. And if you are like me and wanted a little bit more starch, you can pair with new potatoes.

Sound simple?

Not so fast! I really enjoyed this dish and will probably make it again now that I’ve done it once and have a better idea of what’s required.

But.

It loses points for not being very fast, it dirties lots of pots and pans, and it requires lots of prep (chopping the zucchini, tomatoes, onion, and garlic). The potatoes added to that to be sure, but even without them, my previous statement remains true.

I imagine it wouldn’t be too challenging if you weren’t also dealing with a feverish and hungry baby at dinnertime like I was, so take that into consideration. My main issue was getting the timing right. I forgot that I was supposed to be roasting the veggies while I was cooking the rice which of course took way longer than the bag said it would, like always. Then once I had the veggies in the oven, I forgot about them in the midst of trying to get Annabel situated. So there were a couple of un-salvagable pieces of tomato.

I also more than doubled the amount of rice that the recipe called for which was just 1/3 cup. As I was making it, I just couldn’t see how there would be enough to fill a casserole dish with it so I added more (which also slowed things down) and I was so glad I did that! I used a full cup of rice and found that to be a pretty good amount.

All in all a tasty dish that I’m glad I tried and will likely attempt again, but will remember to save it for a weekend night again. It would take way too long on a week night in my opinion.

You can see the other recipes in my series here:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5

