When the Stars Align

I’m a firm believer that when you pay attention, life gets you exactly where you need to be. And that sometimes where you think you need to be is not where you need to be at all. It’s during those times when you really have to listen closely, reassess, and let go of your ideas so that the universe can lead you.

I think that when you find yourself running into the same brick wall over and over and over again, be it in a relationship or job or any other situation, it’s the universe’s way of telling you, NO! This is not right. And then you have two choices: keep slamming into the brick wall or listen to the universe. The choice seems obvious, but I think we’ve all been in situations where that brick wall feels like a magnet drawing us back repeatedly.

But sometimes the opposite is true too. Sometimes it feels like the stars align perfectly and everything falls into place seamlessly. And it’s in those moments when you know you are doing exactly what you should be doing and you can be at peace with your decisions.

That’s where I find myself right now.

I continue to find myself overwhelmed at how perfectly this transition to part-time work is going. And I think a big part of that was listening to myself and paying attention to the signs that were leading me to this place.

When the idea first came to me, I couldn’t imagine leaving my previous office building and the people in it. I cried thinking about it. But part-time was only an option if I left that office and I knew that I still needed to keep an open mind, which I did. That’s when a completely different offer was made to me (though it still required leaving my office). I told you about this before, but that was before I made the move. I was excited even then, but still there were a few things I was worried about.

One of the biggest hurdles was going to be parking. That sounds weird since most people park in a lot outside their building and that’s that. But not where I work. Switching offices would mean giving up the ability to park right outside. I had no idea what I was going to do or where I would park. So I looked into lots of options: buses, the train, parking garages, etc. Once again, with a little searching and a really open mind, I found the perfect solution. I now ride a bus (which is free because of where I work) that departs 10 minutes from my house and drops off literally across the street from my new office. I am saving tons of money in gas and by not having to pay for a parking permit and I don’t have to drive in traffic and then spend another 30 minutes driving around in search of a parking spot (read: needle in haystack). Instead I get to sit and chat with a good friend who rides the same bus. And if that wasn’t enough, she “coincidentally” (quotes because I don’t really think it’s coincidence) only rides the bus on Tuesdays and Thursdays…the days that I also work and therefore ride.

I also worried about Annabel having a longer day at daycare now that I’d be working 8-5 instead of 7:30-4:30 like I was before. So I mentioned it to my new supervisor who said she had no problem with me working 8-4:30 (to catch the earlier bus) on Tuesdays and Thursdays and adding an extra hour onto my half day to make up for it. So now I get to the daycare at almost exactly the same time as I was before.

As far as the new schedule goes, that too has been perfect. I’m finding that my days at work re-energize me for my days spent at home in “mommy mode” by giving me outside, adult interaction, and my days at home re-energize me for my days away. It’s the perfect balance. For me. I’m not burned out by either “job”, and that’s so nice.

I just can’t get over how all of the details have just worked themselves out in such a beneficial way to me. While I still miss seeing some of the people in my old office (not all of them!), the new job itself is so great. So much less stressful and low-key. I really have no complaints and feel so incredibly grateful for the way that it’s all played out. It’s seeing all of this that gives me reassurance that I’m doing the right thing and that I’m right where I need to be.

(like here….)

And that my friends is a great feeling to have!

