Pan Fried Gnocchi

I’m skipping actual order here. I still have a post to write about the Thai Yellow Orange Curry (long story) that I made a couple of weeks ago, but the site where I got the recipe is currently undergoing maintenance, so I thought I’d skip to the next recipe in my “Recipe a Week” series.

This one was inspired by Sara over at Real Fun Food. If you haven’t checked out her blog, you should. She’s hilarious and her food posts are always awesome!

Anyway. A few weeks ago I noticed that our HEB had gnocchi on sale for insanely cheap. Like $0.62 or something ridiculous because they’re remodeling. I’ve only had gnocchi once (in a restaurant), but decided with a price like that, I should try it again at home. So we bought two containers.

The first one, we followed the instructions to boil for two minutes and then just covered it in marinara sauce. It was definitely just “meh”. Not really my cup of tea.

So I wasn’t too enthusiastic about the second container that we had and didn’t know how to make it better. Then I read this post over on Sara’s site and was like, oh duh. Pesto. Pesto can make anything better and the idea of not boiling the gnocchi sounded even better! I decided I wanted to add a couple of veggies to mine,

and after following Sara’s simple instructions for cooking the gnocchi, this is what I ended up with:

For some reason I couldn’t get the gnocchi to brown nearly as nicely as Sara did, but even still, cooking it this way was a vast improvement over boiling it! With the veggies and pesto, it turned out pretty well. I still don’t know if gnocchi is my favorite thing in the world, but this is a simple and fast dinner, so it scored points for me there.

Have you ever tried gnocchi? What’s your favorite way to prepare and serve it?

Recipe a Week:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

