Rookie Mistake

The last several days have been a little bit…trying in our house. Annabel has seemed to be teething non-stop for the past month or so, which means lots of middle of the night cry-fests. Last Friday she was a little feverish and woke up 4 times in the middle of the night crying. I had to work early Saturday morning (not a normal thing; we had an event), so I asked Nathan to take her in to see the doctor.

She had a fever then too, but her ears looked great, so he diagnosed her with an infection in her sinuses/nasal cavity and sent them home with a prescription for an antibiotic. We gave it to her Saturday, Sunday, and yesterday. We headed out for our usual early morning walk yesterday morning and while we were out, I noticed some red spots on her neck/chest. I had already noticed some in her diaper area and thought it might be a diaper rash, but when I saw these, I realized that couldn’t be it and took her back home to examine her better. Sure enough they were all over her belly and back.

I started to freak out when I read on the antibiotic that very rarely a serious allergic reaction could occur and to seek immediate medical attention if a rash developed. So I did just that and immediately took her back to the doctor. They confirmed that she was having a reaction and switched antibiotics and we headed home.

And now we get to the real point of this story. YES, that was all back story.

So we got home and Annabel had fallen asleep in the car, so she proceeded to sleep for about an hour and a half. When she woke up I realized that in the midst of rushing out to the doctor, she hadn’t had breakfast. So I fed her the fruit that I had ready for breakfast and we went about our day. She was super cranky! Pretty much cried non-stop (as in laying on the floor kicking her legs screaming) until I put her down (much earlier than normal I must note!) for her afternoon nap. She seemed a little bit happier when she woke up, but it didn’t last long, and pretty soon she was crying inconsolably again. I tried to nurse her a few times, but she wasn’t really interested. Because of that, it never occurred to me that she was hungry. That and she’d had very little appetite for the previous several days; I assume because she wasn’t feeling well.

Then around 4pm when I was at my wits end trying to figure out what was wrong with her, I realized that even though she had “breakfast” at lunch time, she really hadn’t had much to eat and might be hungry. So I decided to try some yogurt.

She ate a bowl full and I listened as her stomach was gurgling and growling. I felt terrible!

Then she ate another bowl full. And then another. And then some raisins.

And then the funniest thing happened you guys!

My Annabel came back. She completely stopped crying, stared playing, and babbling and generally acting like her normal self. Once again, I felt awful! It turns out babies like to eat, y’all. And when it comes to Annabel’s mood when she’s hungry? Let’s just say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

Worst mother ever.

So tell me I’m not the only one! What has been your biggest “duh” moment as a parent? Or if you’re not a parent, just in life in general?

And just so we don’t close this post without some pictures, here are some funny ones I took the other day of Annabel playing in the shower stall:

