Homemade Granola Bars

For my recipe this week, I was looking for new breakfast options. At my old office, I used to make oatmeal everyday, but that’s not convenient in my new space. So. I needed something faster and easier and more portable. I like the idea of eating a granola bar and cup of yogurt for breakfast, but I hate how much sugar (and extra crap) granola bars have in them. Then it occurred to me that maybe I could make something similar on my own. I didn’t even search for a recipe; I just winged it.

Here is what I used:

First I mixed up all of the dry ingredients.

2 cups of oats

1/4 cup ground flaxseed

1/4 cup walnut chips

1/8 cup mini chocolate chips (I just wanted a hint of chocolate, but you could add more or none)

1 tspn ground cinnamon

Then it was time for fun! I added:

1 tspn vanilla (Imitation if you must know. I’m cheap)

Peanut Butter

Honey

 Approximately 1/8 cup Water

You’ll notice I don’t really have measurements there and that’s because I didn’t measure them out in tablespoons or measuring cups because I didn’t even know where to start.

I took a regular spoon and scooped out peanut butter.

I did this eight times. Yes, I counted for you! There was no rhyme or reason, that just seemed to be a good amount once I stirred it all together.

I had no idea what to do about the honey, so I just drizzled it on there, stirred and then repeated. I was mainly using the honey for taste (and not to bind everything together), so you could probably do as much or as little as you like.

Next I put it all in a non-stick pan and drizzled with another layer of honey.

Then I baked at 350 degrees until golden brown, probably about 15-20 minutes.

And there you have it! Breakfast:

I think they turned out really well considering I had no idea what I was really doing. I took them to work everyday with a cup of yogurt and found that I really wasn’t hungry for the yogurt because they were so filling. And really delicious with a Starbucks latte!

I decided to make them again the next week (yes I’m behind on my recipes because I’ve been doing more than one a week, woohoo!) and tweaked the recipe just a bit. They turned out much better the second time I think. That time I only did about 6 spoonfuls of peanut butter, double the amount of water, and added 1/4 cup raisins. The added water really helped them not to be so dry and the raisins were a nice touch!

Overall, I call this a success because it’s super fast and easy, it tastes good, and I’ll definitely be making it again. All the ingredients for a successful recipe in my mind.

Recipe a Week Series:

Week 1

Week 2

