Broccoli Cheese Quinoa Casserole

Ok, I think we’ve established that I like quinoa and I like casseroles and that together they’re a winning combo. So for my first weekly recipe, I tried to come up with something on my own. I’d classify this as more of a side dish, but you could also use it more as an entree by pairing it with other sides as well. I tend to like to do that because I usually like several different things on my plate.

This recipe is very simple and didn’t take very long to execute at all.

Here’s what you will need:

I actually used 2 cans of soup.

I started out by cooking two cups of quinoa in water. I knew I wanted some for Annabel to be mixed with her veggies for the week, so I’d estimate that I really used about 1.5 cups (uncooked) quinoa.

Once the quinoa was cooked, I spread it on the bottom of a baking dish.

Next I got two cans of Broccoli Cheese Campbell soup and one can of milk and mixed it together, adding the frozen broccoli as I went. I didn’t cook or even thaw out the broccoli prior to use.

Next I spread the mixture on top of the quinoa,

sprinkled with cheese and breadcrumbs,

and popped it in the oven at 350 degrees until the cheese on top was melted.

Then I removed it and ate it with corn on the cob, a favorite summer food of mine!

We thought it was delicious! The only suggestion I would make is to mix the quinoa with the soup and broccoli mix before baking. I assumed that it would seep down and all mix together, but it didn’t really. This wasn’t a catastrophic mistake because I could mix it all up after the fact, but it might have been better if it was all mixed while baking. I also think this would be a great recipe to add chicken to in order to make it more of a full meal rather than a side dish.

If you try it out, be sure to let me know what you think!

