Getting Domestic

Now that I’m going to be home more, I decided it was time I really learn to cook! I’ve come a long way since Annabel was born, but there is still much to learn. Part of the reason I wanted to be home more was so that I could do more in the way of meal prep during the day so that our evenings don’t feel so pressed for time when we get home from work.

My plan is this: cook together on Sunday nights. I cook on Mondays for Monday and Tuesday nights’ dinners. I cook on Wednesday (since I’ll have a half day) for Wednesday and Thursday nights’ dinners. Then cook Friday for Friday (and maybe Saturday) nights’ dinners. Obviously we don’t mind leftovers around here.

That’s a whole lot of cooking for me! My main issue with this is finding new stuff to make. So in an effort to do that, I want to try a new recipe every week for the rest of the summer. I plan to cook it, photograph it and post it to my blog to share with you. I’ll let you know what we like and don’t like, what was difficult or easy, quick or time consuming.

This week I have a couple of things planned.

In the meantime, I had some fresh zucchinis from a friend’s garden and didn’t know what to use them for. So I went with an old favorite.

I posted about these muffins a while back. I used to make them every week, but now it’s been months and months since I’ve had them.

Still totally delicious!

So do you know of any recipes that I should try out? This can include dinner, dessert, sides, whatever. I’ll do some with meat and other will be vegetarian. My favorite kind of meal is one that can easily go from containing meat to being meatless. That way Nathan can still add meat, but I don’t have to eat it if I don’t want. Oh and of course, it needs to be healthy!

So feel free to throw out any suggestions and maybe I’ll feature it here!

