Entertaining a Baby

If you are a parent, then what I’m about to tell you will be old news.

However, if you are not a parent, but think you might be someday, then pay attention! When you’re expecting your first baby, you will be extremely tempted to walk into a giant baby store and purchase everything off of the shelves. Please don’t do this. Most baby products are a scam! Don’t get me wrong, there are some definite must-haves. But if I had to guess I’d say about 80% of the crap you’ll find in a baby store is just that: crap.

Let’s take baby toys for example. I’ve found (and I pretty much knew this long before I became a mother) that the most exciting things for a baby to play with are not toys at all, but regular, everyday items. Before you go out and spend tons of money on baby toys, consider these options.

Exhibit A:

An empty water bottle:

This should buy you a solid 10 minutes in the kitchen. When baby bores of this, present her with Exhibit B:

Coasters.

If you really want to spice things up, then throw in an empty beer box and a cat and you’ll be good to go for half an hour!

See the way she keeps her hand on the coaster while she reaches for the box and looks at the cat all at once? Mind officially blown.

Not impressed? Maybe you’d prefer a camera lens cap?

That little sucker has kept her entertained for quite a while on several occasions.

Or how about fireplace doors?

Then there are always windows and window sills.

But then again maybe you should just ignore everything I just said and go for the toys.

Am I in trouble?

They occasionally do the trick too!

