Another Random Food Post

You might have noticed that on my list of things to do before turning 30, I wanted to try out vegetarianism for at least a month.

Well I’m working on that right now! On Friday it had been almost three weeks of no meat. I ended up breaking my streak when we went out to dinner with friends and the restaurant literally had one small salad without meat. Everything else on the menu contained meat, so I ate chicken. However that’s the only meat I’ve had and still plan to finish out the month. I’m not sure where I’ll go from there, but if nothing else, it’s been a fun experiment and for the most part I haven’t missed meat at all. I could see myself being 90% vegetarian from here on out.

Anyway.

During these past few weeks, I’ve been searching for different vegetarian recipes to add to my rotation. I had seen a picture of stuffed bell peppers on Facebook recently and really wanted to try some, but in searching for a recipe, I couldn’t find one that I completely liked. So we made up our own.

And oh.em.gee, they were amazing! Aren’t they pretty?

I came up with the contents, and Nathan executed it, so I didn’t do any of the actual cooking, but from what I could gather, they were pretty easy. Just so you know, I wasn’t watching t.v. with a cocktail while Nathan slaved away in the kitchen. I was busy entertaining our Tasmanian devil baby.

So while I don’t have an actual recipe for these bad boys, I can tell you what’s inside them:

Brown rice
Black beans
Corn
Diced tomatoes
Onion
Garlic
Shredded Cheese

Like I said. Amazing!

We made enough to have leftovers for a couple of nights and just rotated out different veggies as sides. Speaking of vegetables, here is what our produce haul from last week looked like:

With the exception of some of those carrots, it’s all been eaten. Even that coconut. Have you tried opening a coconut recently? Let’s just say that the experience left me with the distinct feeling that should I find myself on a deserted island anytime soon, I’d likely die before successfully opening another coconut to feed myself. Even with a garage full of tools, I still had difficulty!

I’m trying really hard to get to a point where I enjoy meal planning, but I’m finding it to be very difficult. I’m not a very adventurous eater, so I dread trying new recipes that I might hate. I also find the whole task to be extremely time consuming! I’d love to have a personal chef, but since I don’t see that happening anytime soon, I need to get my act together. Feeding Annabel a good variety of healthy food is so important to me, but right now there’s not a lot of variety in our diets. We need to change that before she starts eating what we’re eating. Right now it’s still easy to feed her well, but that will change as she starts to eat what we eat.

So with that said, do you have any favorite recipes you can share? They don’t have to be vegetarian, but ones that don’t require meat would be awesome!

