No Regrets

I was lying on the couch the other day with Annabel asleep on my chest when I thought to myself, you’re going to regret this someday. You’re starting a very bad habit, and you don’t want her to only be able to sleep with you.

No sooner had the thought entered my mind than it was replaced. How could I ever regret these sweet, sweet moments of baby snuggles? I will never regret the time I’ve spent just cuddling with Annabel. There will come a day when I’ll have to beg her for a hug, a kiss, a little snuggle. When that day comes, I want to know that I took advantage of these days when nothing made her feel more safe and more comfortable than to be in my arms.

Someday I may wish that she’d go to sleep easier. Or I may wish that she’d stay asleep when I put her down. Who knows what the future will bring. But even if I find myself thinking those things someday, I will never wish that I had spent less time holding her, comforting her, and letting her sleep on my chest.

