“When’s that baaaaby due?”

Saturday we went to a family reunion for my mom’s side of the family. My mom’s mom is one of seven, and all seven had several and those several went on to have quite a few children who have now started to have their own children. So as you can imagine, there are quite a few of us. So many, that often times I have to be reminded of who’s who and who they belong to.

One distant cousin had heard from another that I was pregnant. At one point, as I was walking past her, she asked me, “So are you expecting too?” An innocent enough question. But to the ears of the pregnant lady who has felt the entire time that her stomach is too big, all I could hear was: “So are you expecting two?” Major confusion ensued as I went on to say that no, it was just one, and she went on to panic that she had just asked a non-pregnant lady if she was pregnant! Which if you don’t know, is a big no-no.

We finally got un-confused, and figured out what the other was saying, but it was pretty awkward there for a minute. And then all I could do was laugh at myself. Leave it to me to make everyone uncomfortable! But really, her question does seem a little unnecessary considering I look like this:

22 weeks...going on 32!

