Gaps in My Knowledge

Last week we were watching one of our favorite sitcoms, How I Met Your Mother. The episode was making fun of the common sense things that each of the characters didn’t know. For example, Robin didn’t know that the North Pole was an actual place, Ted didn’t know how to pronounce chameleon, Barney didn’t know how to use a screwdriver, etc.

I actually had an “aha moment” during the show myself. Barney’s dad was showing him how to use a screwdriver, and told him “righty tighty, lefty loosey.” I laughed out loud to myself, but Nathan didn’t see the humor and asked what was so funny. I told him that I JUST in that moment understood that phrase. I always just thought it was a cutesy, rhymey phrase with no real meaning behind it. And I had no idea who “Lucy” was. I just never realized its practical application and that it was actually “loosey” and not “Lucy.” For some reason it finally clicked then, and I felt like such an idiot!

That reminds me of when Nathan had to tell me that it wasn’t “Up and Adam” (who the hell is Adam?!?) but actually “Up and at ’em.” I love figuring out things like that. You know, the things that never made sense before and you always wondered about, but never had the guts to ask anyone because it’s usually a pretty embarrassing realization that you don’t like to publicize. I know there are a million other gaps in my knowledge, but that’s the good thing about living…you keep learning! And if you’re lucky, you get to laugh at yourself every now and again.

So tell me, what are some of your embarrassing DUH moments?

