13 Weeks and Counting…

Tomorrow marks my official first day of the second trimester! On the one hand, I can’t believe it’s already here. On the other, bigger hand, it feels like it’s taken light years to get here! I’m finally starting to have some really good days mixed in with all of the other really crappy days. The good days are what keeps me going and gives me a glimpse of that light at the end of the tunnel. I’m incredibly hopeful that things are going to make a dramatic turn for the best and that soon, the misery of the first trimester will soon be but a distant, foggy memory. Wishful thinking? I hope not.

So now that I’ve outlined just how crappy the first trimester made me feel physically (and sometimes emotionally), I’d like to take a moment to discuss the finer moments so as not to completely scare you away from the idea of pregnancy! The best part by far has been seeing people’s reactions when I share the news. There are shocked faces, excited smiles, and plenty of hugs. There are kind words and stories of encouragement. It’s been great! People sure know how to make a girl feel good.

I’m getting really anxious to find out who’s inside there. We had an ultrasound last week when I was 12 weeks. I asked the doctor what was the earliest he had ever been able to predict gender. He didn’t actually answer that question, but asked if I wanted to know his guess. Um, yes please! He proceeded to tell us that he thinks it’s a girl baby based on the angle of something, and the (insert medical jargon here that went completely over my head because I stopped listening after GIRL). The parts hadn’t even formed at that point, so it’s impossible to say if he was correct, but I’m anxious to find out for sure!

So what are your thoughts? Does that look like the profile of a girl baby or a boy baby? Also, do you think the baby looks like me? 🙂 Ha, just kidding of course. About both of those things….

 

