A Timely Message

I got this message in my fortune cookie a few weeks ago, and at the time, I couldn’t get over how appropriate the timing was for me. Well it’s been a few weeks now, and that little message is still what is getting me through. I have to constantly remind myself that though this is hard, it will get better. I have to remind myself over and over, not to give up. Giving up is easy for me, and I hate that about myself. I’m not giving up. I can’t give up. But this is really, really hard. What am I talking about you ask?

Well a couple of days before Christmas, Nathan and I got an early Christmas present:

And it is certainly a gift! Just not one that I thought would make me so incredibly sick! Seriously. Since right around Christmas, I’ve felt more sick than I ever have in my life. While I’ve only thrown up a handful of times, it’s the 24/7 nausea that’s getting to me. It’s debilitating. Literally. I think this was like the fifth weekend in a row where I have done pretty much nothing but lay on the couch, sleep, and complain about how sick I feel. It’s depressing because I just want to be excited, but I can’t get too excited or I might get sick….you know, from all of the excitement:)

Anyway, I’m trying to stay optimistic and do as Nathan encourages which is to “keep my eyes on the prize.” I know that in a few short weeks time, this will all be worth it. I’ll feel better. I’ll have my energy back. And I’ll be anxiously awaiting the arrival of our first baby! Well I already am doing that last thing; it will just be nice when I’ll be able to concentrate more on that and less on this overwhelming feeling of nausea.

I’m really looking forward to the fun parts of pregnancy! I’ve heard and read that the second trimester is where the party is at, so I’m hoping these next three weeks fly by and land me quickly on Easy Street.

Despite all the ickiness, it really was a fantastic Christmas gift and I can’t wait until September!

