4 years!

He had a rocky start in this world. You wouldn’t know it by looking at him though. He’s the picture of health these days. But a little over four years ago, he scared us all. After an emergency c-section due to preeclampsia, he didn’t breathe on his own for a few minutes and spent about a week in the NICU as a precaution because they didn’t know how long he’d gone without oxygen. They didn’t know what the effects might be long term, but I think it’s safe to say that he’s perfect; though I might be a little bit biased.

Sunday we celebrated his fourth birthday (a couple of days late).

He’s got to be the happiest kid I’ve ever known. He’s always smiling about something, and holy crap is that smile contagious! He squints his eyes when he smiles for the camera, so I told him to open his eyes and this is what happened.

I got him a nerf gun that came with a dart board and protective glasses. He decided that he needed to wear them to ride on his new scooter (pronounced “cooter”). He must have thanked me 10 times for his presents.

I can’t even imagine our family without him in it, and I’ll be eternally grateful that he chose us and that despite his rough start, he’s here and he’s healthy and he’s oh so lovable.

Happy Birthday to my second born nephew and favorite four year old on the planet! You never fail to make me laugh….

