Magic Necklace

Yesterday I ordered a Baltic Amber necklace. I had seen mention of these on several blogs, so I decided to do a little bit of research. They seem to have gotten really popular as “teething necklaces” for babies and toddlers. Interesting, I thought to myself.

I wondered if it would do anything for chronic pain in adults because that’s where I need help. From what I’ve read, amber has been used since the dawn of time as a natural pain reliever and immune system booster. It comes from fossilized tree resin and when it rests on your skin, your body temperature allows the oils to be absorbed into the skin. Sounds plausible to me. You can read more about it here if you’re interested.

I’m all about natural remedies. Nathan frequently complains about my complaining when I’m in pain because he can’t understand why I won’t just take a pill. That’s not to say I don’t ever take pain relievers because I definitely do. But when I can avoid it, I do. It’s always a last resort. I really like to keep things natural as much as possible. I try not to eat things with more than a few ingredients (and they all need to be recognizable as food), I don’t like taking medication, and I’ve recently started cleaning with vinegar and baking soda (much to the dismay of Nathan’s nose) to eliminate some of the toxins that we breathe in. I’m beginning to sound like a wacky hippy aren’t I? You don’t need to answer that actually.

So back to the natural remedies. I have chronic back pain, and if I go to a doctor, they will just give me pain meds. I’m not interested in that, so the amber idea sounded intriguing to me. I figure it’s a win/win situation here because even if the necklace does nothing for my pain, I still get a really pretty, hand-made piece of jewelry out of it. Perhaps it is all a scam, but I’ve read moms who absolutely swear by these necklaces, so I’m willing to give it a try.

It’s pretty isn’t it?

Picture from Amber Artisans

Picture from Amber Aritsans

 

Nathan calls it my “magic necklace.” I hope he’s right! I need a little bit of magic in my life to get rid of this aching back.

