Married to a monster….or something like that.

Disclaimer: The following is said in jest…in case you couldn’t tell and thought I was really calling you my husband a monster.

I’m not sure how it happened,  but somehow I ended up married to a person who cannot appreciate the awesomeness of choreographed song and dance, specifically flash mobs. I don’t understand this. I think flash mobs are the coolest things ever! Am I right or am I right?

You can’t watch people singing and dancing and having a good time without smiling right? I mean what kind of person gets no enjoyment in watching a group of people come together and have fun? Well, I’ll tell you what kind. The kind that I’m married to, that’s the kind.

I will tell you one thing though. I wasn’t aware of this flaw in Nathan until after we were married. How convenient. I started to suspect something when I was watching Oprah one day and called him in to watch this:

He was unenthused which shocked me, but I told myself that it was probably just because it was on Oprah and he was just holding on to his man card. But then! Then it happened again. We went to see 500 Days of Summer, and my favorite scene in the whole movie was the dance scene. Again, Nathan wasn’t as enthusiastic, but we were in the theater, so I let him off again and gave him the benefit of the doubt.

Then this weekend, I was watching the movie again. I seriously re-wound and watched that scene like five times. I freaking love it. I asked Nathan how he couldn’t love it too, and he said that choreographed song and dance is stupid; even flash mobs! Say what? Who are you?! What happened to you as a child to make you say such an awful thing?

I mean, really, how can you watch this without wanting to jump out of your seat and dance? Or at least bob your head to the music?

Now obviously this is in a movie, so there could have been lots of takes. I prefer the live, unsuspected kinds because one of the best parts is watching how all of the people around them react. They all get so excited and clearly enjoy the experience….as any normal person would. Maybe Nathan just needs to see it live….

Yes, that’s what I’ll have to tell myself. However if we were to be fortunate enough to see something like that live, and he still couldn’t appreciate it, I think it would be grounds for divorce. That’s reasonable isn’t it?

