I Dream a Little Dream

I have lots of dreams. In fact, I’ve decided that I probably dream too much and that’s why I’m always tired. My mind never actually stops, so even when I’m sleeping, I’m not getting rest.

No, this hasn’t actually been confirmed by a doctor and/or sleep study. It’s just my theory. But I think it’s a good one, so I’m sticking to it. Also, it sounds a lot more legit to blame my constant sleepiness on some type of sleep disorder than sheer laziness. What? It’s plausible.

Anyway, back to the dreams. Sometimes they’re weird. I take that back. They’re almost always weird, even when they are good-weird. Sometimes they’re really disturbing and stay with me all day. Sometimes they’re really good, and I wake up feeling so disappointed that it was just a dream. Mostly, they’re just fascinating to me. I love to dream. I sleep to dream. That reminds me of some lyrics I love from a Dave Matthews Band song,

Oh I sleep just to dream her
Beg the night just to see her
That my only love should be her
Just to lie in her arms

No, there’s no “her” in my life, but if there were it would be Natalie Portman; I just like those words. And sometimes I try to do the same thing…sleep just to dream of certain things. I guess sometimes the dreams are better than the reality. That sounds kind of depressing. I suppose it is. But obviously I’m not the only one! Jason Mraz also has a song called “Sleeping to Dream”…

Sleeping to dream about you
And I’m so tired of having to live without you
But I don’t mind.
I’m sleeping to dream about you and I’m so tired.

ANYway, I really am getting to a point here, I promise. It’s just taking me a while.

Aside from the disturbing, weird, or happy dreams, I actually had a really useful dream the other night. During the day, I was telling Nathan how I had thought of something that I wanted to get for his birthday, but now I couldn’t remember what it was. I have the memory of a drunk college girl making bad decisions. So it was really frustrating me that I couldn’t remember what it was that I had thought of before. I was racking my brain and coming up blank. That night I actually dreamt about the mystery birthday present (unfortunately in the dream, Nathan already had said present)! Not only did I dream about it, but I actually remembered the dream once I woke up! Isn’t that crazy? So now I remember the idea. Nathan better love it. I wish I had more dreams like that. Productive dreams. Yes, that would be nice.

If you’re still reading this, what’s one of the craziest, coolest, or most memorable dreams that you’ve ever had? Assuming of course that you dream at all and then remember those dreams…

