Alone

I saw this video on another blog the other day, and wow. I’m not one to click on videos very often when I’m reading blogs, but I decided to check this one out, and I’m so glad I did. You should do it too. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

I think in today’s society this message is especially important. There’s way too much emphasis being put (in my humble opinion) on being connected. At all hours of the day, in every way imaginable. I’m guilty of this myself. Obviously.

If I leave my cell phone at home, I feel naked. I check my email more times every day than I’d ever care to admit. I check Facebook. I check this here blog. I text. I call. I chat. I read message boards. I read blogs. I comment on said blogs. And I like those connections even if some of them feel a little bit…shallow.

But it’s also good to learn “How to be Alone.”

Society is afraid of alone though. Like lonely hearts are wasting away in basements. Like people must have problems if after awhile nobody is dating them.

But lonely is a freedom that breathes easy and weightless, and lonely is healing if you make it……

 if you’re happy in your head, then solitude is blessed, and alone is okay.

-poem by Tanya Davis-

I actually really enjoy being alone…for a little while. But this video made me realize that my “alone” isn’t truly being alone. I never rid myself of all of the connections just to be with myself. It’s a little scary to just be, with only yourself and your own thoughts for company.

But true solitude is something I don’t think we practice enough of in this country (I don’t know about other parts of the world). Probably because it is scary. It is lonely, and we’re afraid of that. But I think it’s a good thing too. And this video inspires me to explore that further.

