It’s a Girl!

I have a niece! Our family finally has a new girl, and it’s about time! I’ve been waiting for a girl for quite a while now. I have two little half-brothers (ages 10 & 8 ) and two nephews (6 & 3). With all but the first half-brother, I’ve been not-so-secretly hoping for a girl. That’s not to say I don’t absolutely adore all of the boys. I do. More than I thought possible. It’s just that we already had boys, and I wanted a girl. A reason to buy adorable dresses and shoes and bows. My littlest nephew has these really long, gorgeous eyelashes and I’ve always said he would have made a beautiful girl, but somehow it never felt right to buy him a dress:) So I needed a real reason; not a dress your baby nephew up as a girl and traumatize him for life reason.

When I found out that my sister was pregnant, I didn’t even want to think about this baby being a girl. I didn’t want to be wrong again, but even more so, I didn’t want to get my hopes up and feel even an ounce of disappointment if it was a boy. Because that’s messed up, and I wanted to be totally happy either way. I genuinely think I would have been completely happy with another boy, but in all honesty, I just really felt like she was a girl the whole time (and I had plenty of time to ponder this question because my sister decided to torture me and not find out the sex before the birth. I know, how dare she!)  I know it’s easy to say now that I “knew”, but let me give you my reasons.

I’m kind of a little bit obsessed with names, so the first question I asked my sister when I found out about the baby was if they had any names picked out. She said they had a definite girl choice (which incidentally they didn’t use) but were really struggling with a boy name. I told her right then and there that that meant they were having a girl. I’ve had this theory for a while now. Whenever I’ve known couples that couldn’t come up with a name for a particular sex, they’ve always ended up having the opposite. Please don’t tell me a story about how you’ve found the opposite to be true; I don’t want to spoil my theory. So far it’s been correct!

Then in May our Grandma Lily passed away pretty unexpectedly. I thought to myself how nice it would be for them to try to incorporate her name into the girl name should the baby be a girl. When I mentioned it to my sister she said she had already thought of that and even my brother-in-law was all about it. For some reason, this made me even more confident that this baby was a girl.

Somewhere along the way, I also consulted the Chinese gender chart because I’ve known people who swear by it. It also said girl.

Meanwhile, they had come up with a boy name that they liked. That was quickly dashed when we learned that our cousin’s son had the same name (hadn’t seen them in years), and it just wouldn’t work. So it was back to the drawing board, and nothing was sounding right. They did ultimately come up with a name they both loved, but the girl name was more perfect, so this didn’t affect my theory.

Another literal sign came while we were in the Outer Banks for my friend’s wedding. We were walking along the beach and decided to leave on a different path than the one we had used to get in. As we’re walking out, I look up and see a blue, wooden post with the girl name painted in white. It was so strange! I couldn’t figure out why on earth this relatively uncommon name was written on a post on the beach. After we crossed the street, I saw that it was the name of the street as well. So that made a little bit more sense, but it was still so random and bizarre, that I took it as a sign. I also took lots of pictures of it in hopes that it could be framed and hung in the baby’s room.

The last “sign” was not so much a sign as a realization. It was the night she was born, but I was at home with my nephews and waiting until morning to hear about the baby. As I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep, I realized that the first and middle name also shared the same initials as our grandma’s first and last name. I don’t think my sister had thought of this as I certainly hadn’t, and it just made the name seem that much more perfect. I felt sure I would be meeting my niece the next morning.

And what do you know? For once, I was right! Here she is, Miss Lillian Grace:

