Balloons

I’m pretty sure my husband thinks I’m nuts. Case in point:

Sunday I’m attempting to take a picture for my photography class assignment. Nothing is working and I’m not feeling at all inspired. I’m sitting inside after having taken about 100 photos that I’m not happy with, half moping and half brainstorming for new ideas. Nathan is in the kitchen trying to figure something out for dinner when an idea pops into my head and I come zooming in,

“Balloons. I need to go get some balloons.”

“Huh? Balloons? What are you talking about?”

“For my picture. I have an idea, and I need some balloons for my picture.”

“Um, ok. Well we don’t have any balloons.”

“I know! That’s why I said I need to go get some. You think I should run to Walgreens real quick and get some?”

“Well they won’t have helium in them.”

“Oh. Right. Then I need to go to the grocery store. They’ll have a helium tank.”

“But it’s Sunday night! They won’t be able to do that right now.”

“Hmmm, you don’t think so?”

“No.”

“Well I’m just going to run over there (and by run I mean drive comfortably in my air-conditioned vehicle) and check. I’ll be back in a few!” I proceed to collect my purse and put on my shoes, already half-way out the door.

“Uh, ok.” That’s what he said anyway. But I know that he was thinking, “Yeah, ok freak. Whatever you gotta do.”

So I went to the grocery store, bought my balloons and hurried home. Then I proceeded to demand that he join me in the backyard to hold my balloons. He was not amused, but he begrudgingly cooperated.

"How much longer do I have to stand here?"

After all of that, I didn’t even get any great pictures. I just had an exact vision in my head of what I wanted, but couldn’t achieve it. But practicing is the best way to learn, right?

And if nothing else, I taught my husband a valuable lesson in patience and tolerance. Free of charge. Just one of the many benefits of living with a crazy person yours truly. He’s a lucky guy!

Is that a beautiful arm or what?

