Slow down, Brain!

So I’m sitting in my photography class on Monday night when I notice that my mind will.not.stop.wandering. My thoughts were like a hyperactive monkey on crack swinging from limb to limb.

Wow, what a cool picture! I can’t wait to try that technique……………….. Ugh, why does my stomach have to hurt in this class every time? It’s always at the least opportune time too. Why can’t I just get stomach aches when I’m at home with nothing to do but focus on my aching stomach? Grr……………… I can’t wait for Kristin to have her baby; oh the pictures I will take (proceed to visualize said pictures)…………………… Pay attention! You’re paying for this class……………….. Ok that picture is really nothing special. I could totally take that picture…………………. Why is it always so freaking cold in this room?! Maybe I should bring socks next time. My feet are so cold! Would it be weird if I brought socks in my purse when I’m wearing flip flops and then slipped them on after class started? It’s dark in here, no one would have to see me…………………. Mmm, can’t wait to get home and read my book. Why didn’t I get into this book before? I read like 50 pages and then just stopped–for like a year. Now I don’t want to put it down. What’s up with that? I wish I could write a book. I think I could do it, but what the heck would my storyline be? No, it’s too much work. I’ll never write a book…………………… OMG, Adrianne, FOCUS! What is wrong with you? Why can’t you pay attention for 5 minutes? Maybe I should blog about this. Yes, that’s what I’ll do. I never have anything to write about. How do people come up with stuff to write about EVERY day? Maybe my life is too boring for a blog. And you want to write a book? Ha.

……And it just went on from there. I’ve been noticing this type of behavior a lot lately. Even when  I’m reading. For example, I’ll be reading a blog. Then I’ll open up another blog. Then I’ll open up an article and my Facebook page. And I’ll read part of a post/article, and without finishing it, switch to something else. Not because I’m bored with said post/article, but because my mind has gotten restless and I NEED to read something else really quick. Then I’ll go back. And then switch to something else. And this process just repeats itself.

I’ve always been one to read multiple books simultaneously, but recently it just seems out of control. I can’t focus on one thing for more than a few minutes at a time. Also? My memory is crap.

So, um, do you think I might….you know, have a problem? 😉

