Zucchini Walnut Muffins

For the past several weeks I’ve been baking muffins on Sunday to take for breakfast throughout the week. They are super easy, fairly healthy, pretty delicious, and they keep me full until lunch time which is probably the most important factor because you don’t want to get in my way when I’m hungry.

Here’s what you will need:

1 1/2 cups of flour (I use whole wheat, but you can use either)
3/4 cup of sugar (I use brown and regular sugar, but you can use either)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 cup vegetable oil (I sometimes use olive oil; either will work)
1/4 cup milk
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup shredded zucchini
1/4 miniature semisweet chocolate chips (these are completely optional as the recipe is just as good without)
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

It’s all pretty much laid out here:

I mix up all of the dry stuff first, including the walnuts.

Then I shred the zucchini, (which incidentally is quite a little workout for my arm! I totally count it as exercise. You can too. Unless of course you do real exercise in which case, I hate you. Not really.)

mix all of the wet stuff, and then combine it all together to form this goop:

Then of course you pour the goop into muffin tins, bake for 20-25 minutes, and voila:

Muffins for the week!

The really great thing about this recipe is that you can play with it and make it your own. Like I said above, you can use whole wheat or white flour, white or brown sugar, olive or vegetable oil or probably even applesauce, chocolate chips or no chocolate chips, etc. I tend to put in less oil and sugar than the recipe calls for just because I’m trying to make them healthier, and you can’t tell a difference at all. Enjoy!

