Lessons in photography

I signed up for an informal photography class that starts at the end of June. I’m so excited to learn how to operate the DSLR camera that my dad passed along to me!

In the months that I was “borrowing” it before he officially gave it to me, I’ve been playing with it, experimenting with the different modes, and basically just trying to figure out all of its tricks. But I still feel completely lost, so I’m really looking forward to having some hands-on instructions and demonstrations. It’s one thing to read a manual and quite another to have a live person in front of you telling you exactly what to do and why.

So yeah, I’m pretty excited about this new venture. And I’m taking the class with a friend which makes it all the more exciting.

In the meantime though, I’ve been practicing shooting and doing some VERY basic editing {that’s a whole different ballgame, but hopefully one day I can take a class for that too!}. Here are a couple of my favorites from the past few weeks:

One of my favorite books of all time...

and one of my favorite passages from it...

 I guess I’ve been feeling the black and white thing lately:)

