Sleeping on the ground…and liking it!

Have I mentioned before how much I love spring time in Texas? In case I haven’t, let me just get it out there: I LOVE spring in Texas. It’s just FAR too short. I wish it lasted all year…..

Last weekend, we took advantage of the beautiful weather and went camping near Lake Travis with some good friends. Friday night we went to the grocery store and got all of our supplies. We had decided ahead of time that we would make kabobs and we were in charge of the veggies. I also decided to put my baking skills to the test with some zucchini, walnut and chocolate chip muffins. So we got all of our ingredients and headed home to start our prep. While I was busy measuring, mixing, and baking, Nathan sliced and diced onions, red peppers, green peppers, zucchini, new potatoes, and watermelon. Don’t worry, we didn’t put watermelon on our kabobs…that was just for munching:)

Saturday was spent hanging out at the campsite enjoying the sun and view while eating copious amounts of food and sipping on beers. Camping is just an excuse to eat and drink right? Late afternoon the boys got the fire going while the girls laid around in our swimsuits soaking up the rays. Then we cooked dinner,

and enjoyed the view some more:

The next few hours were spent sitting around the campfire, toasting marshmallows, drinking more beer, and chatting. Then it was off to bed. We were up with the sun as is always the case when camping.

We ate some of my homemade muffins for breakfast and then took our friend’s (extremely well behaved) pup for a walk around the lake.

Once we got back we packed up our stuff and headed out so that we could get our weekend chores done before the start of a new week. As much as I hate that Sunday means the weekend is almost over, I actually really like our routine. We usually sleep in, go to the grocery store (try to go early enough to beat the crowd; hardly ever successful), Nathan mows the grass while I do inside cleaning/laundry, and then most weeks we cook up something nice for dinner.

It sounds boring, but as I get older, I’ve realized how much I thrive on routine. I’m like a perpetual 2 year old who needs a consistent schedule. Anyway, another fun weekend and already looking forward to the next!

