Spring has Sprung!

Last weekend was another fun but busy weekend. Friday night we went over to my aunt’s house for pizza and cupcakes to celebrate my grandmother’s 88th birthday and my brother-in-law’s 26th. It was fun to see everyone; it always seems like too much time passes between each visit. We had planned to watch ‘Up in the Air’ when we got home, but it was after 11:30pm and that’s way too late for the likes of me to be starting a movie- yes even on a Friday night. I’m old.

So we watched the movie Saturday morning instead. It was pretty good. Maybe not totally amazing, but still really good. I mean, it had George Clooney in it so how bad could it have possibly been?

After the movie, it was so incredibly gorgeous outside that I took my current book (I’m re-reading Eat, Pray, Love) out to the backyard, laid out a towel, and got to it. It was perfection. The only thing that could have made it better would have been some fresh fruit, veggies, and dip. So I made a mental note to buy that stuff at the store for Sunday. Saturday afternoon I did something a little out of character. I went to meet up with total strangers that I “met” online. Yep, I guess I’m one of those weird internet people. Just before I was to leave, I really didn’t want to go. I was starting to feel like a big loser with no real friends and almost backed out. I’m so glad I didn’t. These ladies were awesome, and it was really fun. The margarita and gorgeous weather might have contributed to my mood, but only slightly. I really had fun and was so glad I didn’t take the cowardly way out and not show up.

Saturday night I went to babysit five kids with my best friend. Most of the kids were pretty self-sufficient, so me and the bestie got some good catching up chats in. And to make some money on top of it? Well that was the cherry on top of the vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup that I had while babysitting. Yeah, so I had pizza, a cupcake, and ice cream on Friday night, a margarita and chips and salsa Saturday afternoon, and pizza and ice cream on Saturday night. Have I mentioned just how hard I fall off the wagon on the weekends? I do REALLY well during the week though, so I allow it. But even this weekend was pretty over the top in the food department.

Sunday. Sunday was glorious. Nathan and I got up and went to the grocery store for our weekly shopping. Then we came home, unloaded the groceries, and pretty much immediately headed to the backyard for a repeat of Saturday’s reading and lounging session. Only this time I had the fresh veggies, fruit, (more) chips and salsa and even the beer that I had wanted on Saturday.

We lounged, we read, I sunbathed a bit, we chatted, I napped. Like I said, glorious. If I could do that everyday of my life, I’m pretty sure I would and it would never get old. Finally it was time to come inside to do my Sunday chores (aka vacuuming, dusting, etc). Then I chopped up veggies for dinner while Nathan grilled chicken.

As per the usual, we ate Sunday dinner in front of the TV while watching Bill Maher. A relaxing, gorgeous weekend. Oh how I love spring in Texas!
